What is all the fluff about?

As a fashion lover I like to keep up with the goings on and forever be adding to the endless wish list of ‘things I would buy if I had unlimited money’ like a Vivienne Westwoord circle bag or Gucci cushion. But, there’s something that I am totally undecided about whether I would put it on list. Yes, I am talking about a fluffy pair of slides. They are something that would never truly be practical in real life situations like popping to the shop when you run out of milk or when it’s raining, but in fashion they make perfect sense as really anything goes.

rihanna-puma-contrast-jacket.jpg

Like most things, trends tend to come about if a celebrity posts a picture to Instagram or they are snapped up by the paparazzi. Or, if a Kardashian happens to be wearing it, which if you’re like me and hold the unpopular opinion of despising everything about them, then this really gets to you. The fact that Kendall Jenner is on the cover of US Vogue basically broke the internet completely confuses me. I feel like Vogue covers have changed in terms of depth and culture, once featuring modelling phenomenons like Campbell or Moss or even covers of art like Dali, but now we have someone who is only famous for basically being affliated with Kim K’s butt and the fact she made sex tape. But, this is a different story and something both me and twitter (look up #ripvogue) have mixed emotions about. Can you tell I am not a fan of Keeping Up With The Kardashians?

Basically, what I am getting at is fluffy slides are making their debut and becoming this seasons (very unlikely) must have shoe, mostly I think down to Rihanna’s Fenty x Puma designs and the fact that Kylie Jenner snapped a pic in a pair not so long ago. I tend to love weird trends and bizarre brands because I am secretly extremely tacky at heart and anything that Pat Butcher from Eastenders would wear (aka Queen of Soap Opera tat), then I will probably love it. Whether it’s over sized chunky plastic earrings, ridiculous prints/ materials or bizarre shoes, I will most likely love it. Famous gals like Rihanna and Gigi Hadid are wearing these fluffy shoes and I don’t fully understand why. Sure, they are aesthetically pleasing and look cool on the catwalk BUT do real life people actually wear shoes that look like a member of the Sesame Street cast?

Like many things in fashion, monetary value on said item seem to be plucked from nowhere. They range from standard shoe price of £60 to the best part of £500 to get your trotters into a pair. For something that is so extravagant and can actually, if I’m completely honest, be a bit of an eyesore, I don’t really see what all the fuss is about. I am a big fan of OTT fashion and brands like Miu Miu and Moschino are among my favourites, because of their vibrancy and bold nature. If I had the money, I would gladly spend the best part of all my savings on some olive velvet Miu Miu boots, all the sunglasses they have ever released and anything Moschino did with the Powerpuff girls on, just because I think it is so wonderfully trashy and brilliant it would actually be rude not to. But even Miu Miu’s pearl fluffy slippers are a threat to my vision.

miu fluff.jpg
ouch my eyes

As you can tell I appreciate bizarre fashion, but some pairs of fluffy slides I don’t get. Even famous brands among the sandal world like Birkenstock have a (slightly tamer) bright blue sheepskin lined pair available. Sure, Rihanna’s I can deal with because they are pretty vanilla compared to let’s say a Tibi pair, which look like something thhat would be in the cookie monster’s mother’s wardrobe. But we seem to somehow be loving this bizarreness as fashion bloggers are giving their old Nike or Adidas slides a makeover by gluing fluff to them to create their very own DIY pair.

I can’t make my mind up on these once boring pool slides you could nab from Sports Direct, becoming a shoe that could only be described as the pantomime shoe of the shoe world. Alas, we seem to be big fans as Rihanna’s bargain adaptation are hard to get your hands on, so it seems they must hold a furry slide shaped space in our fashionable hearts. Perhaps they could become the next best thing, or then again, perhaps not.

Leave a Reply

