Cecily Brown

It’s another Monday (already) and I find myself yet again wondering why I haven’t blogged in a while, which is shameful really. Something I don’t tend to blog about is one of my greatest passions- art. This doesn’t really make that much sense, as I have always been a massive art lover, whether it be ‘customising’ my toys with funky new tattoos and haircuts, drawing giant ducks on the wall in black crayon or sitting in my room painting whatever comes to mind.

I wish I had more time for art, which is a poor excuse on my part as you should always make time for the things you enjoy. So, with this in mind, comes my next blog post. Cecily Brown is an artist I stumbled across by chance whilst reading up about current art exhibitions in London over the summer. I am working at Cosmopolitan Magazine in a few months time (yay) so thought I would procrastinate and avoid doing University work by researching cool things to do in London. It may sound sad to the city goers who are fed up of the stuffy tube and slow walking tourists, but I am very excited to spend some of my summer in London. I will make time to see some of her glorious work, so I thought it would make sense to devote a blog post to her incredible masterpieces.

20091130100213_CecilyBrownHighSociety
High Society (1998) My favourite piece.

Cecily Brown is a British painter who takes inspiration from a variety of very talented artists, from Francis Bacon to Peter Paul Rubens. Although her successful artistic career has been influenced heavily by male painters, her work has always held a distinct female stance. Born into a family rich in creativity and literature, she was destined to go on to big things. Her mother novelist Shena Mackay and her father is Davis Sylvester, an art critic. She achieved a first class degree in BA Fine Art from Slade School of Art in London and moved to New York in 1995, now based in her studio on Union Square. (Life goals).

Her paintings seem manic and rapid at first glance, as if she has just painted blindfolded straight onto the canvas. However, if we look a little closer, it is full of abstract figuration and expression, similar to the work of Oskar Kokoschka’s Bride of the Wind’. Something I love about Brown’s work is how sexuality is a constant theme and how the human form is often subtly included into her paintings, that are full of rich colours and animated brushwork. Her work is organic and each painting has a series of paint layers to create vivid paintings that change each time you look at them as you notice something different.

Brown was recently written about in a feature piece by Vogue outlining her life’s work and achievements. Her work is the type of painting that is impossible to just walk past and not pay attention to. The vibrancy draws you in as there are no boundaries, here are a few of my favourite pieces by Brown:

20091130100009_cecilybrownhardfastandbeautiful
Hard, Fast and Beautiful (2000)
finch2-18-2
Lady Luck (1999)
a7dc0ad4d2a51f48a88637db910b75a5
Putting on the Ritz (1999)

 

aujourdhui-rose
Aujourd’hui Rose (2005)
brown-c_blackpainting4
Black Painting 4 (2003)
22
Couple(2003/2004)
141_1000
New Louboutin Pumps
Leave a Reply

