Hi 2016 (17 days late)

HAPPY NEW YEAR ONE AND ALL!

Ok so I may be a tad late on the welcome but without being rude, I’ve had to get shit done. I greeted the new year in like many of us, surrounded by some of my favourite humans and felt very blessed to be there. Since 1/365, I have been a very busy bee indeed, as I am moving to Barcelona in 12 days and counting. I couldn’t be more excited, but somehow even though it is incredibly close, it doesn’t actually feel like it is about to happen. To study and live in such a beautiful city that is so rich in culture, is something that dreams are made of. I don’t think I could feel anymore lucky than I already do. 2016 is shaping up to be a good’un already.

Something else that has started my year with excitement is I received a very exciting email the other day that resulted in making mum jump out of her skin as I leaped around the living room throwing myself around screaming “OH MY GOD! OH MY GOD! OH MY GODDDDDD!” I had received an email from one of the most important women’s magazines in the world, it was only Cosmopolitan! So I am now all booked in for a months work experience in their office based in Soho. Wowza. This opportunity has filled me with great excitement as I move one step closer to doing what I love. It has also given me a bit more self-confidence and made me think, hey, maybe this could actually work out for me one day? This has given me the slap in the face I needed. A kind of pullyourselftogether type of slap.

2016 will hopefully be THE YEAR. The past two haven’t exactly been great, nor have they been awful. I have met some amazing people along the way, but have also lost one. Although my Dad isn’t here to see and witness all the wonderful positive opportunities that are coming into my life and how my future is staring to mould into shape, I still feel incredibly happy and weirdly very optimistic. It is very easy to stay at rock bottom after your heart has been shattered into a million tiny pieces, but what is the point in that really. Zilch. Nil. Zero. Nothing. 

I still don’t really understand how I am actually here in my university bedroom in my second year revising for my media law exams, about to embark on what can only be described as the most adventurous thing I have done yet- moving abroad. What the hell has happened in the past 2 years to get to this point today? It all seems a blur to me now, perhaps because it was all a long time ago or because I block stuff out. I find writing helps heal and as time passes it does get easier. I think thats why I felt the need to write a bit of a ramble on my blog, it seemed appropriate as the new year is now here.

 

Although I already decided on the first day of the year that the only resolution I could think of (and was actually realistic) was to break in my Doc Martens, which I bought in New York a year ago and they still cause my feet to cry out in pain. So I thought it was about time I did something about it, so I can actually wear them without cutting my feet to shreds. But actually, as I think about it more, I thought of a better one that will benefit me in many ways. I think my New Years Resolution is to simply be happy and not worry about the usual crap I spend fretting over. I guess the worst thing has happened now, so it is only up from here. So happy new year folks.

 

giphy

 

Leave a Reply

