Met Gala 2015

In the midst of this dismal May, the Met Gala bought us a vibrant sea of various celebrities draped in designer clothes parading down the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s red carpet. The museum is celebrating the launch of the new exhibition- China Through the Looking Glass. Many kept to the theme of celebration, through wearing a number of designer Chinese pieces as well as classic designers like Stella McCartney, Calvin Klein Collection and Prada, just to name a few. 

As I haven’t blogged since February, I thought I’d write a quick post with my favourite outfits of the night- enjoy.

Jay-Z and Beyoncé (power couple), who wore a Givenchy Haute Couture by Riccardo Tisci dress.
Jay-Z and Beyoncé (power couple), who wore a Givenchy Haute Couture by Riccardo Tisci dress.
Alexa Chung was dressed in an Erdem dress for the event, keeping in the Chinese theme.
Alexa Chung was dressed in an Erdem dress for the event, keeping in the Chinese theme.
I'm not the biggest fan of the Kardashians but I loved Kendall Jenner in Calvin Klein.
I’m not the biggest fan of the Kardashians but I loved Kendall Jenner in Calvin Klein.
This was one of my favourites- Sienna Miller's trouser suit by Thakoon teamed with a Rauwolf bag.
This was one of my favourites- Sienna Miller’s trouser suit by Thakoon teamed with a Rauwolf bag.
Emily Ratajkowski, arguably the most attractive human on the planet, wore a custom Topshop dress. She probably could make a bin bag look good.
Emily Ratajkowski, arguably the most attractive human on the planet, wore a custom Topshop dress. She probably could make a bin bag look good.
I am not normally a lover of gold, but I really liked this elegant Diane von Furstenberg dress, worn by Kate Beckinsale.
I am not normally a lover of gold, but I really liked this elegant Diane von Furstenberg dress, worn by Kate Beckinsale.
Anne Hathaway in a gold gown by Ralph Lauren.
Anne Hathaway in a gold gown by Ralph Lauren.

Arguably, the one outfit that stole the whole night was Rihanna’s odd dress by Guo Pei, which has been compared to eggs, pizza and has also sparked countless vines of pets imitating the bizarre ensemble- I’ll let you make up your own minds.

Personally, I wasn’t keen. 

Rihanna-Vogue-5May15-Getty_

The shot that has been likened to scrambled egg and all things cheesy.
The shot that has been likened to eggs and all things cheesy.
Exhibit A
Exhibit A
Exhibit B
Exhibit B
3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. But if one looks at it closely Rihanna’s dress was really beautiful also she looked pretty !

    • Jessica Davis May 6, 2015 — 4:02 pm

      Yes it was lovely and very daring, just thought it was funny how the public reacted to it by making it into pizza. Amazing design nonetheless x

      • true I really don’t understand the public why don’t they learn to appreciate beauty ….that is always a question mark

Leave a Reply

