New York, New York

2014 was a bit of an odd year. After losing my dad, my family were left lost and broken. However, we decided to do something about it. We decided not to just wallow in self pity and let grief take over, and wanted to welcome the new year in a positive way. My dad always wanted to be in Times Square for New Years Eve, so we wanted to do exactly that for him.Β I’ve been staring at my computer screen for a good fifteen minutes now trying to distinguish a good starting point to explain this unforgettable experience, but somehow words continue to fail me. So, instead I have decided to let the pictures do the talking, as they tend to capture the moment better than all the words in the world. Enjoy.

My (little) brother, Ollie, in Times Square. I don't say it as much as I should but I really miss my brother at uni.
My (little) brother, Ollie, in Times Square. I don’t say it as much as I should but I really miss my brother at uni.
Festivities in Byran Park. I love this park as local artists showcase their latest creations here, obviously I had to pick up a few pieces that caught my eye.
Festivities in Byran Park. I love this park as local artists showcase their latest creations here, obviously I had to pick up a few pieces that caught my eye.
One of my favourite stalls in Bryan Park, owned by an artist in Brooklyn and his wife.
One of my favourite stalls in Bryan Park, owned by an artist in Brooklyn and his wife.
Christmas Day was spent in MSG, where we discovered that my 16 year old brother is actually taller than one of the players.
Christmas Day was spent in MSG, where we discovered that my 16 year old brother is actually taller than one of the players.
I spent most of the day poking my mum and brother with this, much to their disapproval.
I spent most of the day poking my mum and brother with this, much to their disapproval.
One of the coolest things I have ever done, watching a basketball game here. I think I can speak on behalf of everyone who has ever been, when the national anthem is sung it's hard to keep the tears back.
One of the coolest things I have ever done, watching a basketball game here. I think I can speak on behalf of everyone who has ever been, when the national anthem is sung it’s hard to keep the tears back.
The Tavern on the Park in Central Park is one of my favourite places in the whole world.
The Tavern on the Park in Central Park is one of my favourite places in the whole world.
Not your classic tourist snap, but this just shows how the whole of New York is amazing and beautiful, whether its looking at famous landmarks or just down a normal street like this.
Not your classic tourist snap, but this just shows how the whole of New York is amazing and beautiful, whether its looking at famous landmarks or just down a normal street like this.
Boxing Day, a helicopter ride over the wonderful city.
Boxing Day, a helicopter ride over the wonderful city.
Me and my wonderful amazing family doing something unforgettable together. These two mean everything to me, and although our world has been turned upside down- we are still strong.
Me and my wonderful amazing family doing something unforgettable together. These two mean everything to me, and although our world has been turned upside down- we are still strong.
Brooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Bridge.
Wall Street
Wall Street.
My mum looking out to Liberty Island. This moment I will never forget, looking out to sea washed with the golden glow of the sun, surrounded by my wonderful family.
My mum looking out to Liberty Island. This moment I will never forget, looking out to sea washed with the golden glow of the sun, surrounded by my wonderful family.
Lady Liberty herself.
Lady Liberty herself.
I was then joined by my best friend and her family on this amazing trip, little did we know we would be looking out on the best view the city has to offer just hours after.
I was then joined by my best friend and her family on this amazing trip, little did we know we would be looking out on the best view the city has to offer just hours after.
Ollie and Phil, who was dad's best friend and often partner n crime, trying to take in all the sites.
Ollie and Phil, who was dad’s best friend and often partner n crime, trying to take in all the sites.
Radio City Hall, the home of the cheesiest thing I've ever seen, 'The Christmas Show', later we were all scarred for life due to watching it.
Radio City Hall, the home of the cheesiest thing I’ve ever seen, ‘The Christmas Show’, later we were all scarred for life due to watching it.
Mum and Ruby
Mum and Ruby.
Outside some oversized christmas deco.
Outside some oversized christmas deco.
Me and my amazing Auntie Karen, or as I know her 'AK'. She's one of the strongest humans I have ever mated have so much to thank her for.
Me and my amazing Auntie Karen, or as I know her ‘AK’. She’s one of the strongest humans I have ever mated have so much to thank her for.
Rockefeller Centre, home to the greatest view in New York City.
Rockefeller Centre, home to the greatest view in New York City.
Phil and Karen, this is one of my favourite pictures as its completely natural, capturing the moment perfectly.
Phil and Karen, this is one of my favourite pictures as its completely natural, capturing the moment perfectly.
The two most strongest women I have ever met and probably will never meet anyone stronger. These two have been through so much, and still smiling.
The two most strongest women I have ever met and probably will never meet anyone stronger. These two have been through so much, and still smiling.
Chinese tourist pose
Chinese tourist pose.
The perfect day to be at the top of the Rock. Overlooking Central Park.
The perfect day to be at the top of the Rock. Overlooking Central Park.
No words can describe this beautiful view, so I'll just let the photograph do the talking.
No words can describe this beautiful view, so I’ll just let the photograph do the talking.
My amazing family on top of the Rock.
My amazing family on top of the Rock.
And again, not really sure what is actually happening here, but I like it.
And again, not really sure what is actually happening here, but I like it.
Watching my all time favourite musical Les Mis on Broadway, my mascara was pretty much non-existent after.
Watching my all time favourite musical Les Mis on Broadway, my mascara was pretty much non-existent after.
Preparing to be left as an emotional wreck.
Preparing to be left as an emotional wreck.
Walks in Central Park are the perfect way to escape the craziness of the city, we of course were on our way to our favourite spot..
Walks in Central Park are the perfect way to escape the craziness of the city, we of course were on our way to our favourite spot..
Family is the most important thing.
Family is the most important thing.
Ice skating in Central Park.
Ice skating in Central Park.
Lis tucking in to a toffee apple, she is my little ray of sunshine with a heart of gold.
Liss tucking in to a toffee apple, she is my little ray of sunshine with a heart of gold.
The 'Chris' Pose- this was a pose my dad would always do when with something he loves, normally a good ale or a massive sandwich. Here AK is pulling it off well.
The ‘Chris’ Pose- this was a pose my dad would always do when with something he loves, normally a good ale or a massive sandwich. Here AK is pulling it off well.
Watching ice hockey at MSG
Watching ice hockey at MSG.
Grand Central Station
Grand Central Station.
Ground Zero Memorial. Each tower is represented by a breath taking waterfall footprint where they once stood.
Ground Zero Memorial. Each tower is represented by a breath taking waterfall footprint where they once stood.
On each victims birthday a single white rose is place in their name. Those that were lost circle the memorial falls, which really makes you realise how tragic 9/11 was.
On each victims birthday a single white rose is place in their name. Those that were lost circle the memorial falls, which really makes you realise how tragic 9/11 was.
"Vanessa Lang Langer and her unborn child"- this one really got me and gives me chills every time I look at this.
“Vanessa Lang Langer and her unborn child”- this one really got me and gives me chills every time I look at this.
Not the worlds most happiest photo, but it captures the mood perfectly. It wouldn't be right to take a fake smiling photo, their faces tell the story, 9/11 memorial is a harrowing unforgettable experience.
Not the worlds most happiest photo, but it captures the mood perfectly. It wouldn’t be right to take a fake smiling photo, their faces tell the story, 9/11 memorial is a harrowing unforgettable experience.
Mum and Liss
Mum and Liss.
Oreo Shake in the best diner you could imagine. I had to roll around instead of walking for the rest of the day.
Oreo Shake in the best diner you could imagine. I had to roll around instead of walking for the rest of the day.
Lis next to the only tree that survived 9/11 apart from a small church across the street where people leave their messages and prayers. The tree is said to bring luck if you touch the trunk.
Lis next to the only tree that survived 9/11 apart from a small church across the street where people leave their messages and prayers. The tree is said to bring luck if you touch the trunk.
One of the towers 'footprints'.
One of the towers ‘footprints’.
Ollie being a tourist
Ollie being a tourist.
aaaand AK being a bird
aaaand AK being a bird.
Me and Lady Lib
Me and Lady Lib.
Lady Lib and the best family in the world- words can't cover how thankful I am to have them.
Lady Lib and the best family in the world- words can’t cover how thankful I am to have them.
Me and Ruby, been best friends since day one.
Me and Ruby, been best friends since day one.
my idol, absolute nutter
my idol, absolute nutter.
Dream Team
Dream Team.
Stars & Stripes
Stars & Stripes.
Ellis Island is incredibly creepy
Ellis Island is incredibly creepy.
The view the immigrants would of had from Ellis Island, looking out to the city.
The view the immigrants would of had from Ellis Island, looking out to the city.
Another wonderful sunset starring lady libs
Another wonderful sunset, starring lady libs.
Waving goodbye
Waving goodbye.
Sunset reflecting across Manhattan. This is why I chose to do a photo blog, as words wouldn't do this view the justice it needs
Sunset reflecting across Manhattan. This is why I chose to do a photo blog, as words wouldn’t do this view the justice it needs.
Cowgirls bar and Greenwich. Their frozen margaritas are served in jam jars and they do the best bbq ribs and steak ever.
Cowgirls bar and Greenwich. Their frozen margaritas are served in jam jars and they do the best bbq ribs and steak ever.
A very small me on the Alice and Wonderland statue in Central Park.
A very small me on the Alice and Wonderland statue in Central Park.
Central Park
Central Park.
New Years Eve was spent in Times Square, words fail me every time I try to explain it. Unforgettable.
New Years Eve was spent in Times Square, words fail me every time I try to explain it. Unforgettable.
Welcoming 2015
Welcoming 2015.
New pals I met on New Years Eve, we bonded over mutual love for pepperoni pizza
New pals I met on New Years Eve, we bonded over mutual love for pepperoni pizza.
For anyone that knows me, I love pizza SO much, so naturally my first meal of 2015 was a cheesy circle of deliciousness.
For anyone that knows me, I love pizza SO much, so naturally my first meal of 2015 was a cheesy circle of deliciousness.
My view on January 1st 00:01 2015.
My view on January 1st 00:01 2015.
Yellow flower left for dad in his favourite spot, the ball courts in Central Park.
Yellow flower left for dad in his favourite spot, the ball courts in Central Park.
Mum on Brooklyn Bridge
Mum on Brooklyn Bridge, New Years Day.
Brooklyn Bridge
Brooklyn Bridge.
Cowgirls Bar, New Years Day, where we spent our last few ours together after this wonderful unforgettable trip.
Cowgirls Bar, New Years Day, where we spent our last few ours together after this wonderful unforgettable trip.
Leave a Reply

