Weekend Away In London

One of my closest friends is at Kings University in London, which is great as it’s a cheap train journey away and I get to spend more time in one of my favourite cities. I love visiting London, I never get bored of it, even though I’ve been so many times I’ve lost count. 

I got the train from Sheffield to London, which passed pretty quickly even though it’s a good 3 hours. There is no better place to meet someone than at the bottom of the Shard, which is one of my favourite buildings in London. It was a beautiful day, and the the Shard caught the sun at every angle on its angled exterior perfectly, making the whole building gleam in the glow of a friday evening. The streets were hustled and busy, which is just how I like it, I can’t stand quiet.

As we only meeting up rarely during the year, we had a lot to pack into one weekend, and what better way to kick things off with a boat party on the thames? There was free champagne, good music and a view to die for, the river banks of London glistened past us in the dusk of night, like an old movie reel. It was a perfect night, and was finished off with a takeaway pizza. For everyone that knows me well, they’ll know pizza is my absolute favourite, so this really was the icing on the cake, or in this case, the topping on the pizza for a perfect night (sorry for the cheesy pun, oh wait, and again, I’m on a roll here).

Considering how late we got in, we were up pretty early to make the most of a full day in the wonderful city. As it was my friends birthday, this was the perfect excuse to head over to Oxford Street for some much needed therapy. Hours went by and we went into all our favourite shops, which included getting lost in the massive Topshop, where it is impossible to look at everything because there is way too much.

Obviously, this worked up quite an appetite, so we caught the tube to Covent garden and grabbed some food, I love Covent, theres always something odd going on there. We headed back and went out for a few drinks and walked past Big Ben, which looks beautiful at night.

Unfortunately I had to return sunday, back to Sheffield, but hopefully will be back in London soon around Christmas which is no doubt my favourite time of the year.

waiting for the tube
waiting for the tube
a classic red double decker bus
a classic red double decker bus
covent garden
covent garden
interesting architecture in covent
interesting architecture in covent
Thought provoking window shopping
Thought provoking window shopping
view from the boat party on the thames
view from the boat party on the thames
Leave a Reply

