Sheffield Love

Sorry for my lack of posts, but I have been pretty busy with moving to the wonderful city of Sheffield, for university. I’ve been here for about 2 and 1/2 weeks now but it feels like years- I feel so at home. I love everything about it here. The city itself, the style, the accent, the people and most importantly, Johns famous van, which sells the best sausage and bacon rolls I’ve ever had… the perfect cure for a hangover, which is fair to say i’ve had my fair share- as I’m currently fighting off freshers flu. 

My accommodation is situated in a lovely leafy area, just a short walk from the city centre. I love how individual the city is, it’s like nowhere I have ever been before. I love the mix of individual vintage shops with the main high street stores. My course mates and I have discovered ‘Cow Vintage’, a quaint little vintage store with a bright yellow outside, filled with the most unique and quirky items that would win over generic high street anyway. Safe to say thats where most of my student loan will be going (joking it will be put to good use and spent on learning, obviously).

Sheffield has loads to offer, with delicious restaurants and bars up back streets and hidden away fem the city centre. Bungalow and Bears is one of my favourites, their burgers are to die for. As well as amazing night life and food (my two favourite things) Sheffield has the most beautiful buildings and parks dotted around, Weston Park is my favourite, which is on my walk home.

As for my course, Journalism Studies, I am over the moon with it. Everyday it confirms to me that journalism is for me and it’s what I want to do with my life. Even though Journalism has a stigma as a ‘doss’ degree, then this opinion couldn’t be more wrong. I have the most contact hours than anyone else I know on another course, and I’m in for shorthand lectures at 8am everyday, people are genuinely shocked I get up at 6:30am for university. Nonetheless, this really doesn’t bother me. In fact, it prepares me for my future career, which will no doubt be even more hectic. 

I have already signed up or the university paper ‘Forge Press’ and the university radio ‘ForgeRadio’, where me and my course friend, Chloe, will have our own radio show, so please be sure to listen in! With my course, I have the option to study my course abroad, so will hopefully be off to Barcelona. I feel like I’m doing what I was set out to do, and I couldn’t be happier. This might be a bit soppy, but I am actually proud of myself for once, and feel like I’m doing the right thing. The last couple of months have taught me that life is too short and fragile to spend it unhappy or not fulfilling your potential. I hope you’re proud of me dad, missing you always.

So apart from freshers flu, I couldn’t be happier. I’ve made wonderful new friends, I’m doing a course that I love to make my dreams a reality and I live in a wonderful vibrant city…. whats not to love? 

10689607_860021397350923_5189755865885651721_n
Panorama of Sheffield
10646753_864461613573568_4034483012414543226_n
Steel City
10661924_864207296932333_9012803138739840227_o
My favourite, Weston Park
Leave a Reply

